Recipe | Easy Pan Fried Chicken Strips

I love chicken strips but for some reason, I don’t eat them too terribly much. I don’t care for frozen brands and Chick-Fil-A is kind of far from us. Publix sells chicken strips but for an astronomical price of like $10 for 4 strips, it’s kind of insane. I’ve been messing around with recipes for chicken strips but I honestly haven’t found one I was crazy about. They were almost all baked with bread crumbs and it just wasn’t… Right.

Earlier this week, we were supposed to have chicken strips. I was just going to buy some from Target but decided to try making them from scratch again but this time with a slight resemblance to my pork chops batter.

Oh. My. God. They were SO GOOD. They were crispy, but not overly so. The chicken was so tender. They reminded me a lot of Chick-Fil-A chicken strips. They were just so tasty.

I’m kind of afraid to cook with large amounts of oil because of the potential splatters so I use a deep pot to help. I need to invest in a deep fryer though.

(And yes, new plates! They’re from Target! I’ve been eyeing them forever but couldn’t justify the $140 cost. (We need two sets.) But a few weeks back I combined a sale and Cartwheel deal and got them for 55% off and sold our old dishware to make up the cost. It worked out perfectly!)

But, without further adieu; our new chicken strip recipe!


Easy Pan Fried Chicken Strips

Easy-Pan-Fried-Chicken-Strips

Ingredient List

  • 2 pounds chicken breasts.
  • 1 egg.
  • 1/2 cup milk.
  • 2 cups flour.
  • 3 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 3 teaspoons pepper
  • 1 teaspoon seasoned salt.
  • 1 teaspoon paprika.
  • Pinch of cayenne pepper.
  • Vegetable oil.
     

    Directions

  • Cut chicken into thin strips. Season lighly with salt and pepper.
  • In one bowl, whisk egg and milk together.
  • In another bowl, combine flour, garlic powder, pepper, seasoned salt, paprika, and cayenne pepper.
  • In a large pan or pot, heat 1-1½ inch of vegetable oil to medium-high heat.
  • Once heated, dip chicken strips into egg/milk batter first, then flour mixture.
  • Fry 4-5 strips at a time for 2 minutes each side.
  • Remove and ensure chicken has reached internal temperature of 165°F.
  • Repeat and enjoy!
  • Thoughts?

    