Book Review | “Pocketful of Sand” by M. Leighton

Pocketful of Sand by M. Leighton.

Pocketful-of-Sand-M-Leighton

Genres: Contemporary Romance. New Adult. Abuse. Fiction. Drama.

GoodReads description:

I don’t know what makes a great love story. Is it that instant attraction when boy meets girl? The passionate kisses and the fairy-tale ending? Or is it a lifetime of tragedy, paid in advance, for a few stolen moments of pure bliss? The pain and the suffering that, in the end, you can say are worth it for having found the missing piece of your soul?

The answer is: I don’t know. I don’t know what makes a great love story. I only know what makes my love story. I only know that finding Cole when I did, when Emmy and I were running from a nightmare, was the only thing that saved me. That saved us. He was more broken than I was, but somehow we took each other’s shattered pieces and made a whole. If that is what makes a great love story, if that is what makes an epic romance, then mine…ours is the greatest of them all.


Pocketful of Sand is a story about a 23 year old woman named Eden with a 6 year old daughter named Emmaline “Emmy”. She moves into a small coastal town where she meets her landlord, 29 year old Cole. The story switches between their perspectives. You find that Eden is on the run from a dangerous past while Cole is drowning from his own dark past. Their connection is undeniable from the beginning and when you learn of their secrets, it is truly heartbreaking.

I enjoyed this book. I enjoyed the M Leighton’s writing. I felt the characters meshed well. When I found out about their pasts, I was so sad. Especially for Emmy. Without spoiling the book, the ending I did not care for at all. You know those old Give Yourself Goosebumps books where you had to choose? The ending had something like that and I thought it was a bit… Unnecessary.

My rating: 3/5.

2 thoughts on “Book Review | “Pocketful of Sand” by M. Leighton

Thoughts?

