Book Review | “Red Rising” by Pierce Brown

Welcome to my first book review! I’m so excited to start these. Now, let me start by saying that I read… A lot. And I mean, a lot, a lot. My book count for the past year is 273 books. I read very quickly so this doesn’t seem like a lot to me, lol.

My favorite genre is currently “New Adult”. I used to favor the “Young Adult” section but as I grew older and began to mature, I moved on. I still read a novel here and there but mostly it’s all “New Adult”. I have ventured into the “Adult” section sometimes but it has yet to grasp my full attention, haha. My favorite sub-genres are contemporary romance, drama, horror, historical, and mystery. Mostly fiction but a few non-fictions here and there.

My first book I am going to review is Red Rising by Pierce Brown. I am part of a Facebook book club and this was designated as our April book. Let’s get started!


Red Rising by Pierce Brown.

Red-Rising-Pierce-Brown

Genres: Young adult. Science fiction. Dystopia. Fantasy. War.

GoodReads description:

“The Earth is dying. Darrow is a Red, a miner in the interior of Mars. His mission is to extract enough precious elements to one day tame the surface of the planet and allow humans to live on it. The Reds are humanity’s last hope.

Or so it appears, until the day Darrow discovers it’s all a lie. That Mars has been habitable – and inhabited – for generations, by a class of people calling themselves the Golds. A class of people who look down on Darrow and his fellows as slave labour, to be exploited and worked to death without a second thought.

Until the day that Darrow, with the help of a mysterious group of rebels, disguises himself as a Gold and infiltrates their command school, intent on taking down his oppressors from the inside. But the command school is a battlefield – and Darrow isn’t the only student with an agenda.”


Now let me start this review off by saying that science fiction is definitely not my favorite genre. Don’t get me wrong. I have enjoyed some of the more “mainstream” sci-fi books such as The Host and The Hunger Games trilogy but for the most part I tend to stray away from sci-fi. When the book was voted in and I read the description it sounded alright to me. Unfortunately to say though that after the book began, I was quickly ready for it to end.

Red Rising tells us the story of Darrow, a 16 year old “Red” that lives beneath the surface of Mars. The planets work on a color-coded caste system, Golds, silvers, blues, coppers, pinks, greens, reds, etc. The “Golds” are the highest of them all. Each caste serves a purpose to “The Society”. Darrow is a “Red” who are slaves that are tasked to mine Helium-3, a chemical needed to terraform planets and moons, from the core of Mars. They are led to believe that they are heroes leading the way for man-kind. Darrow believes in all of it and it is all he aspires to be is the best helldiver known.

One day he realizes that everything is a lie and that his people have been severely injusticed by the “Golds”. Darrow is stolen away from everything he has known by the rebels and transformed to become the face of the revolution. He is made into a weapon and placed within the “Gold’s” society.

Darrow is tested and placed in the “Gold’s” institute, which is a school for the fittest. Basically from there it becomes very “Hunger Game-y” and is all kill or be killed. There are copious amounts of brutality and not to mention rape, childrens’ deaths, cannibalism, etc. The entire book is based upon war and becoming the “Primus”. I won’t go describing the book any further so I don’t spoil anything.

So… I hated this book. I really, really did. I was so bored the entire time, I barely could manage to read it. It wasn’t the story alone but a combination of everything. New characters were being thrown at you every other page, you could barely keep up. Strange names and important events were told but never described. I was left extremely confused and frustrated with the entire book by lack of description. I felt Darrow was incredibly narcissistic and honestly annoying. I was surprised I was even able to finish this book.

This is the first book in a trilogy. The second, Golden Sun was released in January while the third, Morning Star will be released in January 2016. I have to say I will not read either. I was disappointed with this book overall.

My rating: 1/5.

Thoughts?

