The BEST Carpet Cleaning Trick

Toddlers are messy, I’m pretty sure it’s built into their system. We live in an apartment that has carpet in the dining room (why, whyyy) and an over-zealous eating 2 year old. We’ve definitely had our fair share of stains and a semi-decent carpet cleaner but NOTHING compares to this.

A couple months ago my daughter spilled chocolate milk everywhere. She had an open cup and a split second on her own. Next thing I know there’s milk everywhere and my carpet cleaner wasn’t working. I was extremely frustrated as my apartment will charge for all stains so I frantically looked up carpet cleaners. Didn’t have to use my SEO skills for this one, there were tons of results.

I had finally settled on one and went out to get all the ingredients. By this point the stains had set so I was a little worried but after I did the concoction, I saw the results…

The-BEST-Carpet-Cleaning-Trick

I was absolutely AMAZED. And you know how much it cost to make this? $5.

Magic Carpet Cleaning Solution

What you’ll need:

  • Baking soda.
  • Vinegar.
  • Clear dish washing soap.
  • Spray bottle.
  • Hot water.
  • Towels or scrubber.
  • Vacuum.

    Start with vacuuming the stain. After, spread a generous amount of baking soda on top and let sit for 10 minutes. In a spray bottle mix 2 cups of hot water, 1 tablespoon vinegar and 1 table spoon clear dish washing soap, mix. After the 10 minutes, vacuum up the baking soda. Spray very generously over the stain and with either the towel or scrub and vicariously rub the area. Stain should come right out!

    I used this for an older orange jello stain, came right out! Definitely recommend!

  • 10 thoughts on “The BEST Carpet Cleaning Trick

    1. Thank you! I stumbled upon your blog somehow…I think someone linked your Car Seat information, and read it and I liked your blog a lot! We both are due same month (just about 10 days after yours), and I’ll be first time mom…and 35. You would think at my age that I’ll know everything? Oh heck no…

      Anyhoo, I have a horrible carpet that’s in my den that’s old…and right now we’re just putting up with it until we can replace the carpet with tiles (with 5 cats and a dog), MAYBE another carpet. Anyhoo – I have some stains that is pet-made and human made. It doesn’t help that the carpet reaches to the back door where my husband walks in with dirty shoes. I mean, really?! Men…

      Anyways, I’m hoping that this cleaning method will do the trick. Best of luck on your 2nd pregnancy. *baby bump*

      DJ

    2. How do you use this on an old stain? I’m assuming the baking soda helps to dry it up or does it soak and then react with the vinegar mixture? I have old stains I’ve been trying to get rid of between pets, kids, and husband! I’m hoping to try this one soon!

      • Hey Erin!

        You would just use the same process for any old or new stain. The baking soda will act both as deodorizer as well as helping soak up the stain if it was new. With old stains though it’s more for deodorizing it but yes, it does react with the vinegar.

        This worked with an old chocolate milk stain on white carpet so I hope it’ll work for your stain as well!

    3. Hey, Great idea, but leave out the dish soap. Use of ANY soap in your carpet will invite the same stain back.

      As the wife of an owner of a great carpet cleaning company, you can actually use a clean, small towel soaked with as much hot water as you can hold and gently or vigerously rub the stain. It will remove almost ALL stains easily and they won’t be back! I urge you to do this before ever using soap on your carpet.

      • Hi Rosie,

        Thanks for the advice! Curious as to know why you think the stain would come back? From my personal experience I’ve never had that issue myself. The soap has actually helped break down the oils and acids that were in result from a food stain and I’ve never had a stain come back ever.

        Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    4. This absolutely worked 100% for me! My 2 year old also spilled a full cup of chocolate milk in the carpet and I was so upset! Tried this and it worked like a charm!! I also tried it on an older stain (not sure what it was, but it was black on tan carpet) and came right out!

      • Hmm. Patsy. I’m not entirely sure. I’ve heard with emulsion paint you should make it as cold as possible. Ice, cold water, etc,. And then maybe follow the method above? It depends on how much paint.

        I would definitely have a look around on how to get paint out of carpet.

    Thoughts?

    